top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnanth Kothuri

Data Crunching

This week was very important for me, mainly because I was able to start to actually begin collecting data. This process had a few steps, and they were all important for me to keep progressing.

Originally, I had wanted to use a Java program to go through the white dwarf catalog and collect the data for me. However, after I had made a plan for the entire code and done so much research, I realized that the catalog was in a different coding language and format that made it much more difficult to create a program. I haven't completely ruled out using a program yet, but as of now, I have begun resorting to manual data collection. This means I'm going star to star and finding those that have all the data I need, and then I'm recording the star and its relative information on a table. Although this method does take much more manpower and time, it's surprisingly easy, and in a short amount of time I was able to collect many more stars' data than expected.

For the upcoming, I want to consult with my dad on the best way to approach my programming issue since he's very knowledgeable on this topic. If I still can't find a solution, then I'll keep manually working and make steady progress that way.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Finally . . . We're Done!

ISM has finally finished, and I am extremely proud of all of my progress throughout the year. I think that I grew so much as a person, learning more communication skills and having the ability to work

ISM is Nearing the End

This week, I was able to really understand how close I was to completely finishing ISM this year. On Friday, I turned in my completed Final Product. This included my research paper, along with any sup

Perfecting the Final Product

This week in ISM, I was able to make huge strides in completing my Final Product. With the help of my mentor, we reviewed my current paper and discussed ways that we could improve it to really provide

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page