top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnanth Kothuri

The First Sparks

Although we just started, I'm already excited about being in the Independent Study and Mentorship program. I can tell that by staying in this class and working hard, I'll be able to go to places that I never even imagined. It's only been a couple of weeks, but I've already created a digital portfolio, completed a research assessment, and created accounts on platforms to connect with others. However, just by doing this, I learned that there is still so much that I don't know. One of the tasks we were assigned this week was to analyze an article pertaining to our topic, and my topic is astrophysics. I love the subject, but after reading the article, I was able to learn so much more about the specifics of the job requirements and what type of people succeed in this field. This is perfect, but the article also opened up so many more questions for me to research and discover the answers to.

In the past weeks, we also gave a speech to our class describing who we were and why we were pursuing our topics of choice. This was a great experience for me because, although I never freeze when giving speeches or presentations, I'm not the most natural either. Communication skills are so important for ISM, so it's encouraging to see that we've already began working on developing these skills. Over the next few weeks, we'll be conducting even more research assessments and learning more about our topics, and I'm burning to get started right away!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Finally . . . We're Done!

ISM has finally finished, and I am extremely proud of all of my progress throughout the year. I think that I grew so much as a person, learning more communication skills and having the ability to work

ISM is Nearing the End

This week, I was able to really understand how close I was to completely finishing ISM this year. On Friday, I turned in my completed Final Product. This included my research paper, along with any sup

Perfecting the Final Product

This week in ISM, I was able to make huge strides in completing my Final Product. With the help of my mentor, we reviewed my current paper and discussed ways that we could improve it to really provide

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page